Weekly treasures|David Lynch’s Blue Velvet

Hey people!

   This is the second post of the Weekly Treasures series. Today I want to share with you an old movie that I watched a couple of weeks ago. I think I’ve never told you the fact that I absolutely loooove old movies – all my favourite movies are the ones created between the 60s & the 90s.

hero_blue_velvet

   The crime film / thriller Blue Velvet, released in 1986, is a David Lynch’s creation. Weird and psychologically challenging, the movie creates a “new dimension”, a different kind of world. In my opinion, the most essential aspects in this movie were the emotions, the blue_velvet-1static & dynamic characters, not the plot. The original,” scary ” personalities have a massive intellectual impact on the viewer, almost a twisted definition of “abusive”.

blue_velvet_613x463

   If you like mysteries, “bizarre” art, I totally recommend you watching this movie. I believe this film should be studied, so I would suggest you to watch it more than once.

blue-velvet-2

   Wonderful actors, dreamy music & costumes, great aesthetics – I won’t tell you more – Go discover it, challenge yourself to understand a bit of the mind of David Lynch.

blue-velvet-0003

And … because this is also a style/ fashion blog, I’ve put together a modern Blue Velvet inspired outfit:

  • Silver metallic leather skirt by Luisaviaroma ( here )
  • Knitted cashmere sweater by Valentino ( find it here )
  • Star asymmetrical earrings by Luisaviaroma ( here )
  • Fabio Rusconi blue velvet shoes ( here )
  • Nightingale Small embellished leather tote by Givenchy ( here )

Moodboard created with TrendforTrend 

tumblr_n649r34oex1r52he3o1_500

“Every viewer is going to get a different thing. That’s the thing about painting, photography, cinema.” – David Lynch

xx

One thought on “Weekly treasures|David Lynch’s Blue Velvet

Leave a Reply

